rllogo picture

news picture

Student Entering Colorado State University Selected For Monberg Achievement Scholarship Program

Friday, May 29, 1998

FORT COLLINS--Tara Lynn Schifferns of Arriba, Colo., has been chosen to receive a scholarship from the Luther and Helene Denzler Monberg Memorial Achievement Scholarship Program as an incoming freshman at Colorado State University.

Ms. Schifferns, daughter of Edward and Beverly Schifferns of Arriba, Colo., graduated this spring from Arriba-Flagler High School in Flagler, Colo. She plans to become a medical technician or physician's assistant, and will major in biology when she enters Colorado State this fall. She was awarded the Monberg Memorial Achievement Scholarship Program's certificate of merit and $1,550 scholarship based on her academic, extracurricular and volunteer service achievements.

The Luther and Helene Denzler Monberg Memorial Achievement Scholarship Program was founded in 1994 by Helene C. Monberg, a retired newswoman. A native of Leadville, Colo., Ms. Monberg resides in Washington, D.C. She established the scholarship program in honor and in memory of her parents, who were longtime Leadville residents, active citizens and lifelong education advocates. Ms. Schifferns graduated first in her high school class with a 4.0 grade-point average, and has been active in school, sports, church and community activities. She served as class president for three years, Future Business Leaders of America president for two years and student council treasurer for a year. Other achievements include teaching Sunday school for four years and organizing a local food drive for two years.

This year the basic $1,000 scholarship, contributed by Ms. Monberg, was supplemented by $200 provided by Mrs. Ann Downing Schmidt of Denver and Washington, D.C.; $50 provided by Ms. Monberg's sister, Mrs. Rae M. Dabbert of Missoula, Mont.; and $300 provided by Ms. Monberg in memory of two friends and her aunt, Ann M. Heath of Colorado Springs, who died during the past year. Her friends were Kenneth G. Holum Sr. of Annapolis, Md., and Michael B. Lopez of Littleton, both education advocates.

Previous scholarship recipients have been Christopher A. Christiansen, senior at the University of Southern Colorado in Pueblo; Gregory S. Benn, junior at the University of Colorado at Boulder; Stephanie E. Long, sophomore at Colorado State University; and Rebecca A. Penrod, freshman at the University of Southern Colorado.

Return to the Colorado State University News page.

This page © 1997-1998 World Wide Express, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Many news stories on RamLine.com come from the Colorado State University Public Relations Office. You can get copies of the news releases directly by filling out this form.