rllogo picture

news picture

Colorado State's College Of Natural Sciences Honors Six For Teaching

Thursday, April 16, 1998

FORT COLLINS--Four faculty members and two graduate students at Colorado State University have been honored for their work in teaching and mentoring students in the College of Natural Sciences.

Each will each receive a plaque and $500 stipend and will be recognized at the college's spring convocation May 16.

Faculty Undergraduate Teaching Awards went to Brian Jones, coordinator in the department of physics, and Steven Strauss, professor of chemistry, for innovative teaching and superior performance demonstrated in the classroom.

The Faculty Graduate Education Award was given to Thomas Bennett, professor of psychology, for outstanding work in teaching the methods and spirit of scholarly inquiry that form the foundation of graduate education and for his work an advisor and mentor.

Jennifer Nyborg, associate professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, won the Faculty Award for Mentoring Undergraduate Research for her efforts to get undergraduates to participate in independent research, communicate their discoveries and to make research fit undergraduate education.

Micah McCauley of the physics department and Paul Roback of the statistics department earned Graduate Teaching Assistant Awards for the high degree of professionalism shown in the classroom.

The awards recognize efforts to help students realize their full learning potential, to encourage students to set high standards for scholarship, integrity and independence and to be receptive to students' concerns. Award winners are recommended to the dean by a panel that includes previous award winners drawn from both faculty members and graduate students and an undergraduate student council member.

Return to the Colorado State University News page.

This page © 1997-1998 World Wide Express, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Many news stories on RamLine.com come from the Colorado State University Public Relations Office. You can get copies of the news releases directly by filling out this form.